Can we go out to eat tonight?

My 4 year old has been asking me for weeks if we can go out to eat. We’ve been so busy lately that it’s taken awhile to get around to it, but tonight we took him out! Grayson loves getting “fancy” and dressed up for dinner. He usually chooses a bow tie, but tonight he really wanted to wear this hip red check button up (red is his favorite color) so none of his bow ties matched it really. He also wore skinny jeans rolled up at the bottom and these adorable See Kie Run high tops- and lets not forget the belt. Grayson loves wearing belts, probably because I don’t let him wear them often. I mean he can’t wear them to school because let’s face it- can he really undo the belt and get pants down in time if he really has to go? I like for him to feel really independent at school so it’s usually elastic waist pants. So tonight he just felt really special and excited to be going on a date with mommy, daddy and his mimi (my mom). We sat down in a big booth and right when the waitress came up to us Grayson was the first to speak and ordered himself Mac n’ cheese with a milk please. I’m proud of him for feeling confident enough to just order what he wants for himself. He’s only 4 after all. I’m big on manners and he did really well tonight. We all clinked our glasses together and said CHEERS. Grayson talked about his wonderful his mac n’ cheese tasted, how he really wanted to use the urinal in the men’s room, and at one point my mom said something funny so Chris and I laughed. Grayson said “excuse me mommy what are you laughing about?” I can’t say how much i LOVE when he says “excuse me” to get my attention. And he has the sweetest voice too. After we ate we walked the mall a bit and Grayson sat on my moms walker and she pushed him- he felt like it was an amusement park ride. As we were leaving he noticed someone has left a cookie on a bench instead of putting it in the trash. He looked at me and said “mama let’s make that our lazy person story tonight”. See Grayson loves when I tell him stories and he usually tells me exactly what kind of story he wants to hear and somehow we started this “tradition” of me telling a lazy person story at night before bed. So anytime he sees trash on the sidewalk, dog poo not picked up, etc…those turn into our lazy person stories. Grayson is always quick to say that the story isn’t about him because he’s NOT lazy. He cracks me up. 

Leave a Reply

